Goosewing Ranch Guest Reviews

September 2018

Fantastic, Fun, Beautiful Ranch

My sister and I stayed in an Indian cabin that was so comfortable and cozy. We loved everything about this ranch: the employees, horses, activities and it’s lovely setting. Everyone was so friendly and fun to be around, including the other guests! Excellent chefs to feed us great food at the darling dining cabin. We liked having a Wrangler to ride around the ranch area. We hope to return someday!

Lawrenceville, Indiana

August 2018

Covered Wagon was the highlight of our Wyoming Trip

Our family of four spent two nights in a covered wagon and three nights in a cabin at Goosewing. The covered wagon, in particular, was awesome. We were the only guests there and wrangler Wayne and cook Jim were super hosts. We spent both days riding horses all day, learning how to tend for them, taking the ATV up the mountain, eating and drinking around the campfire, and enjoying some space and time out in nature with virtually no other contact or modern life. It was the highlight of our ten-day trip to Wyoming. The cabins were fun too. All in we spent about 4 hours a day riding horses and were able to keep the same horse the entire time, so our kids got attached. My only recommendation to the ranch would be to help guests plan their activities better as it seemed a little challenging to figure out what our options were and what we could really do. It seemed a squeaky-wheel-gets-the-grease kind of discussion each night. Food was great, place was clean and the separation and space were all fantastic. Would definitely recommend this to those with the budget (not cheap).

Arlington, Virginia

Perfection!

Goosewing ranch exceeded our loftiest expectations. The experience of spending 4 days in this beautiful place was simply magical and was undoubtedly the highlight of our American holiday. The food, the riding, the attention to detail and the friendliness of all of the staff was first class and I cannot praise the place highly enough. We loved it!

Edinburgh, UK

We Loved This Place!

Goosewing Ranch is an absolute gem. It ticked all our boxes: beautiful, cosy cabins, fantastic views, a host of activities, including horse riding with supreme wranglers, and fantastic food served in a wonderful ranch style dining room. We enjoyed roaming free and taking in the sights and the wildlife in the Rangers that come with every cabin. But most of all we enjoyed the people, who were all warm, charming and willing to bend over backwards to give us a great experience. This place is good for everyone – families with small children or teenagers or older, or even singles of couples travelling on their own. Our family voted it the best holiday ever.

London

Best trip we have ever taken!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin and loved it! Keurig in the cabin with coffee,hot chocolate. Small refrigerator in cabin. As many activities or as little as you want – fly fishing, trip to rodeo, horseback riding (several trips to choose from) swimming pool, skeet shooting, Rangers to explore…..Absolutely LOVED it! Given horse to ride based on your riding experience. Not just for adults, but kids as well. Wildlife abounds, beautiful scenery, wonderful food! You won’t go away hungry!!! Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Felt like we were old friends and enjoyed meeting them. We were sad to leave. Highly recommend and will definitely go back!!

Jodi D.

Exceeded Everything!

In July we spent 7 nights at Goosewing Ranch for our 40th wedding anniversary! We can’t say enough about Goosewing and all that it offers, as well as all the employees and other guests who added to our fun and enjoyment!!! We easily rate them 5 stars+++

The drive from Jackson, WY took us around 1 1/2 hours to get to the ranch. That is because there is 17 miles of dirt road which had some rough areas that we took slow and just enjoyed the drive and the beauty of the area!

We researched guest/dude ranches for months trying to find the right ranch for us. We loved the fact that Goosewing Ranch is a smaller more intimate ranch! From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked the right place!!!

Our cabin was so cozy and comfortable and we had such beautiful views from the window and porch.

The lodge is where you eat. All meals were excellent and very large portions. Some meals we shared because we had to stop eating so much food. They offered great food choices for breakfast and dinner. They had lunch in the lodge if you were going to be there and if not a picnic lunch was made up for you. There was always a snack in the lodge in the afternoon. Before dinner they had appetizers. All the kitchen staff were great! Everyone seemed to know our name! Taylor and Clair were always there with a smile.

Right outside the lodge they also have a pool and spa which is excellent after horseback riding. The pool and spa were never busy! Kids seemed to have a great play area and a lot of activities.

They had a room in the lodge where you signed up for activities for the following day. There is always something to do if you wanted to do it! Everyone seemed to keep so busy we rarely saw other guests until dinner!

Horseback riding is 2,4 or 6 hour rides. We stayed with the 2 hour walking only rides. We loved that we had the same horses for our entire stay. We were so happy we had cowboy boots! We also made use of the “gel pads” on the saddles!!! “Thank You” to our wranglers Emily, Danielle and Jordan!!!

“Thank You” Brandon for making us laugh and giving us fly fishing lessons, and doing the .22 and skeet shooting!

There is also hatchet throwing and archery! We do not know what all the kid activities were. The children always seemed to be enjoying themselves.

We are retired and usually do a lot of hiking. We had not done horseback riding in more years than we care to admit. Having the UTV available for each cabin was such a smart idea. When we were not horseback riding we spent a lot of time using our UTV Ranger exploring! Gunsight Pass had beautiful views at the top as well as great flowers, Soda Lake and Dallas Lake were great places to go to for a picnic! We even checked out the “glamping area”.

All of the staff were so exceptional! We met guests and employees that were from all over the U.S. and Europe! J in the office and Amy who is the general manager were always around keeping things running smoothly and we loved Amys precious baby who always had a smile on his face!!!

There was some flooding before our arrival which wiped out the tack barn. But everyone figured it out and set up a temporary tent tack barn by the corrals. The guests were never affected!!!

There is no phone service. But they did have good WiFi. It was best in the lodge but sometimes we were able to get it on the porch of our cabin.

Goosewing exceeded our expectations!!! We were so happy we stayed the full 7 nights because we did not miss anything!!! It is all we hoped it would be and more!!! It was our “Western Cowboy Adventure” that we hope to do again soon!!!

THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT GOOSEWING FOR MAKING OUR STAY A VERY MEMORABLE ONE!!!

Richard from Aliso Viejo, California

July 2018

Fantastic Ranch Experience

We visited Goosewing Ranch at the end of June. This is a nice size ranch with around 60 horses and no more than 30 guests really in 10 cabins. From the moment we were greeted by J we were made to feel part of the family. We were showed around and to our cabin. We had a Trapper Cabin which was great, nice and comfortable. You have the full use of an ATV which you need to use to get out and explore the amazing area whilst you are not ridding.

While we were there Francois the owner was there and he explained that they had had some problems with a river bursting it’s banks and flooding the paddocks where they lost the hay barn and the tack shed. It is a real testament to all the staff there that they managed to keep everything going while they were coping with the flood.

We were fitted up with our horses and then straight out. Tom the head wrangler was a real gentleman and all his wranglers were very experienced. We managed to get some good rides in even a couple of advanced rides, (thanks Sarah, Danielle & Emily) miles and miles of scenery with plenty of loping and cantering.

For meal times We were seated with a great family from St Louis (Hi Dan, Caroline, Grace & Carter) who made us feel part of there family which was nice, everyone mixes together and it’s a great way to meet interesting people. The food was great, you had a choice of dishes and everything was freshly cooked. The guys in the restaurant Taylor and Daniel who looked after us were great, it was also nice that everyone seemed to know your name which made the whole stay more personal.

Brandon was always around teaching skill like fly fishing and shooting. We didn’t have any children with us but the kids seemed to be well looked after and had loads of freedom and activities. The use of the pool and the hot tub was also a welcome addition.

With the use of free washing machines and dryers, and WiFi in the main lodge this all helps to make the stay more comfortable.

You need to visit this ranch to experience it for yourself, we will definitely be returning next year but for longer this time.

A big thank you to Amy and all the guys at Goosewing for a truly amazing time.

Top tips:- take some warm clothing layers as it can be quite chilly, have a decent car preferably an SUV or 4×4 if you are driving there as the last part of the track is a bit bumpy, take a good camera as the scenery is breath taking, get out and about in the ATV and explore, Thank you once again.

Ian & Lynda. UK

Beyond My wildest dreams!!!

I travelled alone to Goosewing ranch, but felt like an old friend to all the staff there, They are all fantastic!! the food was outstanding, never a bad meal, I put on lbs. The horse riding was exciting and so beautiful, no photos can do this place justice. try and arrive in the daytime as the drive to the ranch is breath taking, and slightly bumpy. its lovely to have the pool and hot tub to sooth the days riding away, there is also a sauna. make sure you see Cass for a massage she truly has magic hands. the activities are great to learn new stuff, I feel like a professional fly fisher now thanks to Brandon, and Daniel showed me how to do honky tonk dancing, and that I love a Whisky!!. join in with the evening games and entertainment, its just so much fun.
You get your own ATV to use so there is lots of exploring on your own to do and wild life to see, drive up the mountain to sit and hear the eagles cry, and watch the humming birds. borrow a rod and head off to soda lake. Definitely don’t forget your camera. A trip into Jackson hole for some shopping and a drink or two, then a night at the Rodeo is well worth the drive.
honestly I could go on about how great this place is for hours. I cant wait to go back.
Happy travels folks.

Hilary from Bristol, Tennessee

June 2018

Fantastic mother-son getaway!

We LOVED our time at Goosewing. From booking time on, the service and attention to detail was amazing. Amy is incredible and seems to really care about guests. We ended up spending our first night at the Glamping site, sleeping in the covered wagons, which was a great experience. It was a truly remote getaway. The following 3 nights were at the Ranch. We loved the variety of activities at the ranch. My 14 year old son and I were both happy. He enjoyed Kickball, Target and Skeet shooting, archery, hammer throwing and fishing, and I loved the riding. Every day we rode between 2 – 6 hours depending on our desire, and we went on different trails each day. This place is very remote with thousands of beautiful mountains/hills to explore around, as well as plenty of rivers and creeks. Incredible views from many places. Everyone was so friendly. The staff even greeted us by name when we arrived. I had complex dietary restrictions and they were happy to accommodate them. Service throughout was beyond thoughtful and friendly. We also really enjoyed the ATVs that came with every room, and the complimentary massage for one was included with the room which was a wonderful surprise, especially after riding so much. The food was tasty and plentiful, and the room was wonderful. Go – this is an experience of a lifetime in a great place.

Nica G

May 2018

An awesome vacation at Goosewing Ranch Jackson Hole, Wy

My sister and I spent a week at the ranch and after unpacking in a cabin with 2 very comfortable roomy beds, that type of cabin was called Indian cabins. Really cute to stay in, nice porch to sit out on and have coffee in the mornings. We met Francois the owner of the ranch, a very nice man to visit with. After unpacking, it was off to the stables to be assigned to our horses we would have for the week. Then it was off to the Lodge for dinner. Before dinner, we got to see the welcoming stampede of the horses that are brought into the field adjacent to the Lodge. That was an awesome sight. The food they served was wonderful. For breakfast, just about anything was offered from the menu and it was delicious. We never went in for lunch because, we were too full from breakfast and they served a nice snack at 3:30 pm. If you desired they had lunches packed and ready to go if you would like to go fishing for the day, or have lunch on the daily horseback trips.One highlight was each cabin was furnished with their own UTV to use at your leisure to explore the ranch and go up into the hills whenever you liked. Those were so much fun to drive around. As far as horseback riding, you could take beginner, intermediate or advanced riding lessons all included in your week. The staff at the stables were awesome and very patient with you.They offered 2, 3, or 6 hour rides. A couple of nights we had outdoor cookouts, the steaks were delicious as were all the dinners offered in the Lodge. The Lodge was very nice as well, besides eating there, they had a nice sitting area in front of the picture window, to sit and visit with the other guests. Also a loft were they had a TV to watch and a pool table as well. We just can’t say enough about the ranch, the staff ,the meals and horses, and the fun with the activities they offered. A most enjoyable place to visit. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Bonnie M, Illinois

January 2018

Amazing experience at Goosewing Ranch – love this place.

We are LONG overdue to write a review – but better late than never. We visited Goosewing Ranch in June 2017 and had an amazing experience. It was the perfect dude ranch experience with amazing rides, incredible scenery and great food/service.

My husband and I selected Goosewing (GW) because we were unable to do a full 7 day ranch visit and GW offered shorter stays. Huge plus.

Riding: We did one ride a day, 4 and 6 hour duration. For the longer rides, the kitchen provides packed lunches which you order in advance. The rides were fun – we passed the loping test and were able to lope (canter) on the trails. The scenery was spectacular – we haven’t been anywhere like this. Two of our rides allowed us to have amazing views of the Tetons – nothing like it.

Cabins: Cabins were nice, nothing fancy but more than adequate.
Each cabin has an ATV which you can take off property. We didn’t take advantage of this as much as we probably should have. But we were exhausted following the riding and stuck close to “home”.

Food: Food was tasty – you have a choice at dinner. As we had a packed lunch each day, I can’t comment on the lunches back at the ranch. Breakfast was made to order and a great start to an action packed day.

Other activities: GW provides a variety of other activities such as hatchet throwing, shooting, archery, fishing. Some was geared more towards kids, but we enjoyed it. Hatched throwing was AMAZING – make sure you do this when available. Each night was a different activity.

Wranglers: All of the wranglers were very helpful, Wayne was character. We felt very comfortable in their care.

Washers and driers available: this was a huge help for us to wash some clothes before moving on on our trip.

Pool/hot tub: We took advantage and they were perfect at the end of a 6 hour ride.

Wifi: it is possible to get some patchy wifi access if absolutely required but I would recommend going to GW to go off grid.

Shop: There is a very small shop at the ranch if you forget anything (or want to pick up a cowboy hat!). They had things like soap, sunscreen. But keep in mind that you are a hour+ from Jackson so bring whatever you need for your stay.

We can’t recommend this place enough. Would give more than 5 stars if possible! We will be back again in the future. It has been 6 months since our trip and we are still raving to friends and family about GW.

Goosewing Ranch – Thank you for an amazing vacation!

Guests from London

September 2017

Like in dreams

We came from France to experience a ranch in US and pretend to be cow-boys for 1 week. We had high expectations, but it was even better. As a beginner, it was to me a great 1st experience with horse riding. The wranglers had already prepared a horse for me that is good for beginners. In the first day, they proposed easy rides and some exercice/games in the Arena. And when I felt comfortable enough, I tried the 4hr-6hr hour advanced rides, which was intense but amazing. For my girlfriend, which already was an experienced rider, the experience was amazing as well. She loved her horse, and she could enjoy tough horse riding with the wranglers. We are now back to Switzerland, and we miss our horses!!

Regarding the rest, all is amazing. The cabins are charmful and clean. The lunchs (breakfast, lunch and dinner), very tasty and huge portions (now we are on diet for 1 month). The location is stunning, 1hr away from Jackson Hole, far away from civilisation just next to a river (you can see the river from the cabin). The ranger UTV is perfect to visit the different spots around the ranch, especially the view from Gunshot. And finally, the service is amazing. All the waiters/wranglers are friendly, and the atmosphere with other guests is like family. A special thanks to Louise (wrangler) and Francois (the owner), who took special care of us and explained everything in French.

We went there in September, and the weather can fluctuate quickly : it was warm enough to try the swimming pool at beginning of the week. And when we left, on Saturday, it was quite cold in the morning, there was even some snow. For future travellers, be prepared to discover an amazing region, Wyoming/Montana is really as beautiful as in the movies, with new landscapes at each trail.

Hope to come back next year.

Clotilde & Nicolas, Switzerland

Best Dude Ranch Vacation Ever – Amazing holiday

That place is truly a slice of heaven! Too bad I can only give 5 rating points. My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Ranch so much! The location is amazing, breathtakingly beautiful, the staff is amazing, everybody did such a great job! All is so well organized! The food was great, very accommodating even with my vegetarian diet. The activities offered were fun, there was no boring minute. And not to forget the horses, the trail rides – wonderful – when you stay on top of a mountain and think – is this really true – such great adventures, such amazing countryside. Would love to go back! I think all guests had a wonderful and fun filled time.

Guests from Ontario, Canada

Adventure of a lifetime at Goosewing Ranch

This Ranch is a real gem with the full Western experience yet all the amenities you expect on vacation. The food was “elevated” homestyle cooking. Family style dining was really delightful. Great bar! Activities after dinner are part of the charm. The main event of course, is the horseback riding. The trails are expansive and cover very diverse terrain. The views everywhere take your breath away. I was an accomplished rider as an adult, mostly English. It took awhile to get back to Western riding. The beginner trails are challenging so be prepared. The staff is exceptional from wranglers to wait staff and management. Had a great massage too! The cabin looked like something out of decorating magazine. Set your alarm to get up after the moon has moved for the best light show of a lifetime.

Susan from Chicago

Slice of Heaven!

My daughter and I recently visited Goosewing Ranch and had the time of our lives! The drive out from Jackson was breath taking. It’s a long haul out, but you pass all type of geological master pieces and end up to an area that feels like the real wild west. We arrived to a very welcoming staff, a clean and comfortable cabin and the running of the horses at sunset. Our six year old daughter was beside herself, watching all 70 horses sprint across the acreage with the river and mountain range behind. The ranch is very organized and has a central lodge for all of the guests to meet up, dine, play games and sign up for activities. The tables switch seating every few days which is a brilliant way to meet the other visitors on the ranch!

We can’t say enough about the food. It’s simple, but outstanding. Lots of choices per meal and all were hearty, fresh and very appreciated. The chef even made whip cream for our daughter to have on top of the chocolate chip pancakes. THANK YOU. All of the servers were friendly and took the time to get to know all of the guests.

The ranch itself is giant and very well laid out. The barn is a short walk and the horses are well taken care of. The ranch hands are very focused on safety and getting all of the guests out on incredible rides. We really enjoyed getting to know each wrangler and appreciated how accommodating they were to all ages, riding levels and requests. The penning was really fun for both my daughter and myself and the daily 2 hour rides were nothing short of breath taking!

Each cabin is allocated with a Ranger for your personal use. There are endless roads, trails and areas to explore at your convenience. We had a blast packing up a small lunch and visiting the river, the lake and the overlooks per the staffs recommendations. Our daughter loved this part of the trip and we would love to have explored more of the area if we hadn’t spent so much time on the horses!

Francois, the owner was on site during our visit. He was working hard every day and you could see the passion he holds for his ranch. All of the staff are kind, well trained and incredibly helpful. They have activities organized throughout the day you can choose to participate in or not. Our daughter did just about anything offered and we fell into bed every night exhausted and thrilled.

This is a top notch family location with international guests and a full suite of offerings. If you can afford the cost and the time, we would suggest staying for at least 4 nights. We booked for 3 and were heart broken when it was time to leave, really wishing we had at least one more night a wonderful location.

Thank you to the entire staff of Goosewind Ranch for providing a top notch visit and experience for us. We loved all aspects of our adventure and hope to get back next summer!

July 2017

Amazing family vacation

We spent six glorious nights at Goosewing. Can’t recommend this place enough. Located about an hour and fifteen minutes outside Jackson, Wyoming. You really go off the grid. No cell service. Wifi is pretty much non-existent. Just go with the mindset that you are disconnecting. Was wonderful to have our full family unplugged for a week! Staff is amazing. I swear it is about 1:1 on staff to guest ratio! Incredibly attentive. Food is delicious. Don’t think we ever experience hunger!! More than we could eat!! I can’t imagine coming for less than a week. It takes a couple days to get into the routine and get aquatinted with your horse. There is so much to do, you need time tog eat it all in! Bring your jeans, boots, hat and bug spray! When the breeze goes away, the mosquitos come out. The daytime temps were low 80’s with no humidity! Coming from Florida, the dry air was a shock to the system!! The mornings were cool. Simply divine.

AMAZING VIEWS!

Had a wonderful 4 day experience at Goosewing Ranch. Private cabins are beautifully decorated and quiet. Great horses and excellent (and plentiful) food. Having a use of your own Polaris for getting around and exploring was a great asset. Service and staff were friendly and very attentive. We chose this ranch in part because of their good reviews and were not disappointed! A Covered Wagon experience will be open soon and looks as if it might be the best way to experience life in the old west without the hardships. Private bathrooms for each wagon is a nice plus. Highly recommend for couples and families alike.

Guests from North Carolina

Wow! We have been to many places around the world and Goosewing Ranch has been my family’s favorite vacation.

Everything about Goosewing was managed impeccably. The wranglers did a fantastic job with the arena training and trail rides. The instructions to the newbie riders were thorough. If you are an intermediate to advanced rider, there are plenty of rides that cater to your abilities as well. A typical itinerary for riding at Goosewing is an option for a 2,3, 4 or 6 hour trail ride. There are also lessons offered in their outdoor arena. A couple of days a week they also offer a kids ride. This is a 4 hour ride with lunch just for the kids.

If you do not want to ride a horse or only want to ride for a short time, Goosewing offers many other activities. There is fly fishing lessons on site and then they have equipment you can take off site to one of the many rivers or lakes. They have a swimming pool and hot tub. There is also an activity barn with shuffleboard, foosball and ping pong. Goosewing also has a horseshoe pit and adjacent to the pit is a corn row game. They have a small pond with a canoe. From 4PM to 5PM they have daily activities such as skeet shooting, target shooting, archery and hatchet throwing. Goosewing also provides each cabin with a Polaris Ranger 4×4 to take off site on the dirt roads. There is much to see around the ranch. There is great hiking,lots of wildlife and many things to explore.

After dinner each night are other program that are available. Some of the night time activities are line dancing, kickball, lasso lessons and a campfire. If you are not interested, you are free to do anything you like.

At the main lodge where the meals are served there is also an upstairs. Here there is a pool table, checkers, chess and books to read. It is a great place to spend late afternoons and evenings.

The food at Goosewing is excellent. Breakfasts have a wide range of choices from eggs, omelettes, fruit, cereals and pancakes. Dinners are mostly meets, with one Italian night and one Mexican night. Everything was cooked to order and done to perfection. The lunches are the only average part of the meals. Half of the time, they made sack lunches for us consisting of deli sandwiches, that we ate on our trail rides.

The lodging itself was really comfortable and homey. It was log cabin, western style decor. The rooms were warm. The beds were comfortable and housekeeping did a fantastic job of keeping everything clean.

I am not generally so long winded, so you can see that my family highly recommends Goosewing Ranch.

Guests from Washington

June 2017

My wife, 2 teenage boys and I stayed for 4 nights in mid June 17 at Goosewing and had a great time. The horseback riding was fantastic. My boys had never ridden but did very well and didn’t want to leave their horses. Great rides with amazing views, including wildlife. Cabins were perfect and the food was excellent…very, very good! We enjoyed the UTV rides and went out on our own several times exploring. But the best part was the staff and other guests. We met some great people. All staff from the dining room to farm hands were very nice and helpful. Truly exceptional. The only complaint would be that the weather didn’t cooperate…cold and the river was flooding. However it didn’t interfere with our riding. Would highly recommend Goosewing!! We’ll miss it.

Guests from Kentucky

 We visited the ranch for the 5th time and, as always, had a great time! We experienced some fun rides with spectacular views, especially the Grey Hills ride that takes you to a trail along a high cliff line. We each had the same horse all week, and enjoyed getting to know them. Everyone on the staff, from the cooks to the waitstaff to the wranglers, were so nice and helpful. Since you visit for several days, you get a chance to know them. Because of the relatively small size of the ranch, you also get to know the fellow guests. The cabins are comfortable, and you cannot believe how quiet it is at night. If you have the chance, look at the stars at night as they are more visible and vibrant that most other places. The food has been getting better each year, and every meal was excellent. For those who cannot live without wireless, there is one spot in the lodge where you can get a signal, but it will allow you to maybe check emails (but not download movies, etc). Besides the daily ride, other activities include swimming, fishing, ATV Ranger rides, and lessons in shooting and hatchet throwing.

Paul from Illinois

Best family vacation ever!!!!

Went at the beginning of season, so most of the staff was new but you’d never know it! They ALL performed as having been there together for years! 🙂
Customer service was impeccable. Fun, adventure and opportunity was abundant. Other visitors were great. We lucked out with the weather being unseasonably warm, yet when the pasture flooded Goosewing still made sure everything was offered without even a hiccup in the day. We were very happy to have the chance to try new things like learning to fly fish, skeet shooting etc. That was part of the reason we choose here.
It was especially nice not to have tv or cell/internet unless in the lodge. It’s a great chance to disconnect.
We can’t say enough good things about Goosewing! We loved it!

Guests from Florida

September 2016

Ranch Extravaganza!!! Must experience this place!

The experience this place provides if you like the outdoors is 2nd to none. From arrival after a long drive on a never ending road we got checked in to our cabin and we happily surprised by how luxurious and apt it felt. We got kitted out on our horses who we fell in love with and settled in for dinner. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble. Food was excellent and a variety to meet everyone’s tastes and very big portions! There is a real family feel at eating times and you get the chance to meet guests and have fun.
The riding can be as basic or fast as the riders dictate. We got looked after and had loping tests and had some fantastic 6 hour fast rides. Special mention to Wayne the cowboy who adds character to the ranch!
Scenery is breathtaking.
Horses are well cared for and full of personality. All the other add ins you can do and the AV thrown in makes the ranch experience perfect!
From shooting to line dancing and massages! They cover it all and the cost of drinks on the ranch very sensible.
We are from the uk but had our little piece of cowboy heaven.
Also managed to ride bare back taking the horses back out to pasture!
Highlights fast ride and team penning!
We will be back and could come here every year!

Ann-Marie from England

Trip with 13 year old grandson

We were very pleased with the ranch, the horses, all the other amenities. Lots to do. The heated pool was a welcomed plunge, and the hot tub great after riding for 4 hours. Our horses were well matched and the daily rides enjoyable. The Ranglers were great, especially Katy D., who also graduated from the WWU, Fulton, Mo., a few years after I graduated from it in 1968. Her knowledge of the area, animals, and turraine was most appreciated. She was tuned in to the needs of all the visitors. Amy, was also a great help and wanted to make sure every aspect was to our liking. We would totally recommend this ranch for adults and children over 10.

Dayle S.

August 2016

Amazing ranch. Beautiful location and wonderful staff. Stayed here 4 days and wished that I had stayed longer. The trail rides are out of this world (and I am not a rider). Watching my two girls herd cattle was a real highlight. Can’t recommend the ranch enough.

Guests from London

Amazing scenery and lovely people

My husband and I visited this ranch for a 6 night stay and I can’t say enough nice things about them. The staff members were very sweet and accommodating. The kitchen staff were willing to go out of their way to accommodate dietary requests. The wranglers and activity staff would talk to guests the night before and tweak the next day’s activity schedules to fit everyone’s needs/desires. The cleaning and maintenance staff would always say hello and were happy to answer any questions we had. Our cabin and bed were very comfy.

Going in, I had riding experience, but my husband did not. After a couple days and an arena lesson, they had him comfortable enough to go on a 4.5 hour “fast ride”, loping through the countryside with the rest of the group. We had a blast! The longer trail rides we took to the gray hills and tepee creek were some of the most amazing views I’ve ever seen.

Aside from the many daily trail ride options, there are so many activities, you could never be bored. My personal favorite was the team penning, where you work in groups of 3-4 to separate a cow from a herd in an arena as fast as possible. It was hilarious and was basically a lot of people on horses yelling at livestock but definitely a must try activity in my book. My husband particularly liked the shooting sports available. We tried skeet shooting, target shooting, archery, and hatchet/knife throwing. Having never shot a gun before, I turned out to be a pretty good shot!

A few pieces of advice:
– Show up to activity sign up as soon as it starts. Some activities fill quickly and if you’re there for a 1/2 week, they may only be offered once.
– Book your massage the day you arrive for the last day you’re there. You’ll be doing a lot of activity so it’s good to cap the trip with a massage so it “sticks” longer.
– You’re allowed to bring your own alcohol but there’s a $10 corkage fee if you drink it at the lodge. Other areas are fine.
– Pack layers and a wind breaker! We were unprepared for the huge temperature spread (80 during the day, 40 at night). The coldest morning we had was 28. The wind can get intense in the afternoons.
– Be aware that sodas are not included in the meal package. You will be charged extra for ginger ale, Sprite, etc. Not a big deal, just a thing to note.

My one complaint was the assigned seating policy in the dining area. If you get stuck with a group that you don’t like, you’ll be eating with them all week. We requested to be moved to a different table after a couple days, but due to this assigned seating policy, the move was conspicuous and created tension. Several people, including other guests, staff, and the owner, brought up the topic of the dining seating move with us after it happened. We appeared to have been branded as “difficult” after requesting new seats and we couldn’t shake the event/label for the rest of the week. I think the situation could be improved with either open seating or rotating table assignments.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience at Goosewing. The staff was superior and it’s a beautiful part of the country. You’ll never be bored at this ranch so make sure you schedule some nap/pool time into your day. They’ll keep you busy! We will definitely be back in the future.

Maureen D.

Fantastic Family Holiday

We travelled as a family of four, 2 very experienced horsewomen, myself who used to ride but hasn’t for 20 years & our son who was a complete novice. The whole experience was amazing. The horses were healthy, happy & well matched to our abilities and in 5 days of riding we managed between 26 and 30 hours in the saddle. The rides are very varied in length, speed and scenery (all spectacular) and the equestrian activities including cattle penning & mounted games are great fun. The other activities are also well organised and very entertaining. You can have as relaxed or as intense a time as you want – we went all out & never seemed to have a minute to spare. The cabins are comfortable, clean & well supplied – we had cabin 10 which is the furthest away from the lodge – and loved the isolation. Food is great & plentiful. The staff are all great, difficult to single people out but James in the Restaurant & Hannah & Griffin from the wranglers were excellent. You’re at over 7000ft so it can get cold at night but it was never a problem for us. The ‘Ranger’ all terrain vehicles provided with each cabin give you the opportunity to explore the surrounding area when not in the saddle (& gave our grown up kids their first experience of off road driving). A day in Jackson Hole is also a must. I work with horses every day despite not having ridden for 20 years but this holiday has rekindled my love for them so much that I’m looking to buy one -they wouldn’t let me take Marshall home!

John from New Jersey

Exceeded our already high expectations!!

We could not have been happier with our first time ranch experience! The ranch became “home” very quickly! The accommodations were snug (2 adults/1child) but attractive and adequate. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and always available. We really appreciated the fact that they learned our names almost immediately. The location was stunning with many planned activities which we signed up for everyday with horseback riding a priority. This is the perfect place for families! Because of the limit on the number of guests , we were able to get to know most of them . We brought our 9-yr.-old granddaughter with us and she made the absolute most of ranch life! We highly recommend Goosewing Ranch!

Linda from North Carolina

July 2016

I can’t say enough positive about our visit to Goosewing Ranch. Right from the beginning we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The staff did a great job and a special thank you to Amy and Randy. We check in, got to our cabin, had met and were on our horses within 45 minutes of arriving at the ranch. The food was top quality and a true reflection of the chef and his staff. Being able to eat and get to know the same group of people during meals was an excellent added touch for our family. We were able to get to know and become involved in each others families during our visit. We are definitely looking forward to a future visit.

Best Vacation Ever

This was hands down the best vacation we ever had as a family. I have never seen a staff so caring, patient, accommodating, and attentive to its guests as the staff at Goosewing. There was always something to do whether it was an arranged event or just taking out the Ranger roaming around the mountainside. Housekeeping always did such a wonderful job with our cabin and even left goodies behind. Every day offered horseback riding and at least one or two additional events. Safety was always at the forefront when helping guests with their horses and on the trails. The grounds were kept so beautifully with a pond for canoeing, offers of massages, free laundry room, a separate building for kids with ping pong, fooseball, and shuffleboard. It was next to a very nice playground. The chef did an amazing job with each and every meal and provided afternoon snacks every day from cookies to ice cream. The wranglers were very knowledgeable and made learning fun. There was an outdoor pool with a sauna and hot tub available for guests. I can’t say enough good things about Goosewing Ranch except that we are going back next year.

Michele from Virginia

Awesome experience at Goosewing with 18 family members!!

we brought our entire family..our children and their spouses and 10 grandchildren ranging in age from 17 to 21 there was something for every age, the food was good and abundant, the cabins were clean and fun, the staff was attentive and friendly and the activities were fun and plentiful. we highly recommend Goosewing! Plus it is in the most beautiful, breathtaking setting imaginable!!

Guests from Florida

Adventure in the seclusion of the Gros Ventre Valley

A great place for anyone looking to escape crowds, enjoy wonderful views, service, food, and outdoor activities. Something for everyone, but the adventures on horseback are a definite highlight. We engaged in everything from team penning and trail rides, to skeet shooting and just lounging by the pool.

Guests from Florida

Stayed 2 Days Wish I stayed 2 Weeks!

This is the best vacation we have had in a while. We only planned to stay two days because we were traveling through from Yellowstone and we were not sure how our 6 year old would like it. However, we all Ioved it and wished we stayed longer. They had great activities everyday but the hi-light was the horse back riding. the horse wranglers made the ride exciting and fun. We especially liked Abby. She was great with our son and was amazing with our horses. All the staff at the ranch was great. Our favorite waiter was James. He made every meal and cocktail hour delightful. He was not only a terrific server but just a wonderful person to be around. The food was amazing. The chef was trained at Le Cordon Bleu and made dishes that were of a 5 star restaurant caliber for every meal. We will definitely go back as we already miss it and our son hasn’t stopped talking about it!

Gari L.