Goosewing Ranch Guest Reviews

January 2018

Amazing experience at Goosewing Ranch – love this place.

We are LONG overdue to write a review – but better late than never. We visited Goosewing Ranch in June 2017 and had an amazing experience. It was the perfect dude ranch experience with amazing rides, incredible scenery and great food/service.

My husband and I selected Goosewing (GW) because we were unable to do a full 7 day ranch visit and GW offered shorter stays. Huge plus.

Riding: We did one ride a day, 4 and 6 hour duration. For the longer rides, the kitchen provides packed lunches which you order in advance. The rides were fun – we passed the loping test and were able to lope (canter) on the trails. The scenery was spectacular – we haven’t been anywhere like this. Two of our rides allowed us to have amazing views of the Tetons – nothing like it.

Cabins: Cabins were nice, nothing fancy but more than adequate.
Each cabin has an ATV which you can take off property. We didn’t take advantage of this as much as we probably should have. But we were exhausted following the riding and stuck close to “home”.

Food: Food was tasty – you have a choice at dinner. As we had a packed lunch each day, I can’t comment on the lunches back at the ranch. Breakfast was made to order and a great start to an action packed day.

Other activities: GW provides a variety of other activities such as hatchet throwing, shooting, archery, fishing. Some was geared more towards kids, but we enjoyed it. Hatched throwing was AMAZING – make sure you do this when available. Each night was a different activity.

Wranglers: All of the wranglers were very helpful, Wayne was character. We felt very comfortable in their care.

Washers and driers available: this was a huge help for us to wash some clothes before moving on on our trip.

Pool/hot tub: We took advantage and they were perfect at the end of a 6 hour ride.

Wifi: it is possible to get some patchy wifi access if absolutely required but I would recommend going to GW to go off grid.

Shop: There is a very small shop at the ranch if you forget anything (or want to pick up a cowboy hat!). They had things like soap, sunscreen. But keep in mind that you are a hour+ from Jackson so bring whatever you need for your stay.

We can’t recommend this place enough. Would give more than 5 stars if possible! We will be back again in the future. It has been 6 months since our trip and we are still raving to friends and family about GW.

Goosewing Ranch – Thank you for an amazing vacation!

Guests from London

September 201

Like in dreams

We came from France to experience a ranch in US and pretend to be cow-boys for 1 week. We had high expectations, but it was even better. As a beginner, it was to me a great 1st experience with horse riding. The wranglers had already prepared a horse for me that is good for beginners. In the first day, they proposed easy rides and some exercice/games in the Arena. And when I felt comfortable enough, I tried the 4hr-6hr hour advanced rides, which was intense but amazing. For my girlfriend, which already was an experienced rider, the experience was amazing as well. She loved her horse, and she could enjoy tough horse riding with the wranglers. We are now back to Switzerland, and we miss our horses!!

Regarding the rest, all is amazing. The cabins are charmful and clean. The lunchs (breakfast, lunch and dinner), very tasty and huge portions (now we are on diet for 1 month). The location is stunning, 1hr away from Jackson Hole, far away from civilisation just next to a river (you can see the river from the cabin). The ranger UTV is perfect to visit the different spots around the ranch, especially the view from Gunshot. And finally, the service is amazing. All the waiters/wranglers are friendly, and the atmosphere with other guests is like family. A special thanks to Louise (wrangler) and Francois (the owner), who took special care of us and explained everything in French.

We went there in September, and the weather can fluctuate quickly : it was warm enough to try the swimming pool at beginning of the week. And when we left, on Saturday, it was quite cold in the morning, there was even some snow. For future travellers, be prepared to discover an amazing region, Wyoming/Montana is really as beautiful as in the movies, with new landscapes at each trail.

Hope to come back next year.

Clotilde & Nicolas, Switzerland

Best Dude Ranch Vacation Ever – Amazing holiday

That place is truly a slice of heaven! Too bad I can only give 5 rating points. My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Ranch so much! The location is amazing, breathtakingly beautiful, the staff is amazing, everybody did such a great job! All is so well organized! The food was great, very accommodating even with my vegetarian diet. The activities offered were fun, there was no boring minute. And not to forget the horses, the trail rides – wonderful – when you stay on top of a mountain and think – is this really true – such great adventures, such amazing countryside. Would love to go back! I think all guests had a wonderful and fun filled time.

Guests from Ontario, Canada

Adventure of a lifetime at Goosewing Ranch

This Ranch is a real gem with the full Western experience yet all the amenities you expect on vacation. The food was “elevated” homestyle cooking. Family style dining was really delightful. Great bar! Activities after dinner are part of the charm. The main event of course, is the horseback riding. The trails are expansive and cover very diverse terrain. The views everywhere take your breath away. I was an accomplished rider as an adult, mostly English. It took awhile to get back to Western riding. The beginner trails are challenging so be prepared. The staff is exceptional from wranglers to wait staff and management. Had a great massage too! The cabin looked like something out of decorating magazine. Set your alarm to get up after the moon has moved for the best light show of a lifetime.

Susan from Chicago

Slice of Heaven!

My daughter and I recently visited Goosewing Ranch and had the time of our lives! The drive out from Jackson was breath taking. It’s a long haul out, but you pass all type of geological master pieces and end up to an area that feels like the real wild west. We arrived to a very welcoming staff, a clean and comfortable cabin and the running of the horses at sunset. Our six year old daughter was beside herself, watching all 70 horses sprint across the acreage with the river and mountain range behind. The ranch is very organized and has a central lodge for all of the guests to meet up, dine, play games and sign up for activities. The tables switch seating every few days which is a brilliant way to meet the other visitors on the ranch!

We can’t say enough about the food. It’s simple, but outstanding. Lots of choices per meal and all were hearty, fresh and very appreciated. The chef even made whip cream for our daughter to have on top of the chocolate chip pancakes. THANK YOU. All of the servers were friendly and took the time to get to know all of the guests.

The ranch itself is giant and very well laid out. The barn is a short walk and the horses are well taken care of. The ranch hands are very focused on safety and getting all of the guests out on incredible rides. We really enjoyed getting to know each wrangler and appreciated how accommodating they were to all ages, riding levels and requests. The penning was really fun for both my daughter and myself and the daily 2 hour rides were nothing short of breath taking!

Each cabin is allocated with a Ranger for your personal use. There are endless roads, trails and areas to explore at your convenience. We had a blast packing up a small lunch and visiting the river, the lake and the overlooks per the staffs recommendations. Our daughter loved this part of the trip and we would love to have explored more of the area if we hadn’t spent so much time on the horses!

Francois, the owner was on site during our visit. He was working hard every day and you could see the passion he holds for his ranch. All of the staff are kind, well trained and incredibly helpful. They have activities organized throughout the day you can choose to participate in or not. Our daughter did just about anything offered and we fell into bed every night exhausted and thrilled.

This is a top notch family location with international guests and a full suite of offerings. If you can afford the cost and the time, we would suggest staying for at least 4 nights. We booked for 3 and were heart broken when it was time to leave, really wishing we had at least one more night a wonderful location.

Thank you to the entire staff of Goosewind Ranch for providing a top notch visit and experience for us. We loved all aspects of our adventure and hope to get back next summer!

July 2017

Amazing family vacation

We spent six glorious nights at Goosewing. Can’t recommend this place enough. Located about an hour and fifteen minutes outside Jackson, Wyoming. You really go off the grid. No cell service. Wifi is pretty much non-existent. Just go with the mindset that you are disconnecting. Was wonderful to have our full family unplugged for a week! Staff is amazing. I swear it is about 1:1 on staff to guest ratio! Incredibly attentive. Food is delicious. Don’t think we ever experience hunger!! More than we could eat!! I can’t imagine coming for less than a week. It takes a couple days to get into the routine and get aquatinted with your horse. There is so much to do, you need time tog eat it all in! Bring your jeans, boots, hat and bug spray! When the breeze goes away, the mosquitos come out. The daytime temps were low 80’s with no humidity! Coming from Florida, the dry air was a shock to the system!! The mornings were cool. Simply divine.

AMAZING VIEWS!

Had a wonderful 4 day experience at Goosewing Ranch. Private cabins are beautifully decorated and quiet. Great horses and excellent (and plentiful) food. Having a use of your own Polaris for getting around and exploring was a great asset. Service and staff were friendly and very attentive. We chose this ranch in part because of their good reviews and were not disappointed! A Covered Wagon experience will be open soon and looks as if it might be the best way to experience life in the old west without the hardships. Private bathrooms for each wagon is a nice plus. Highly recommend for couples and families alike.

Guests from North Carolina

Wow! We have been to many places around the world and Goosewing Ranch has been my family’s favorite vacation.

Everything about Goosewing was managed impeccably. The wranglers did a fantastic job with the arena training and trail rides. The instructions to the newbie riders were thorough. If you are an intermediate to advanced rider, there are plenty of rides that cater to your abilities as well. A typical itinerary for riding at Goosewing is an option for a 2,3, 4 or 6 hour trail ride. There are also lessons offered in their outdoor arena. A couple of days a week they also offer a kids ride. This is a 4 hour ride with lunch just for the kids.

If you do not want to ride a horse or only want to ride for a short time, Goosewing offers many other activities. There is fly fishing lessons on site and then they have equipment you can take off site to one of the many rivers or lakes. They have a swimming pool and hot tub. There is also an activity barn with shuffleboard, foosball and ping pong. Goosewing also has a horseshoe pit and adjacent to the pit is a corn row game. They have a small pond with a canoe. From 4PM to 5PM they have daily activities such as skeet shooting, target shooting, archery and hatchet throwing. Goosewing also provides each cabin with a Polaris Ranger 4×4 to take off site on the dirt roads. There is much to see around the ranch. There is great hiking,lots of wildlife and many things to explore.

After dinner each night are other program that are available. Some of the night time activities are line dancing, kickball, lasso lessons and a campfire. If you are not interested, you are free to do anything you like.

At the main lodge where the meals are served there is also an upstairs. Here there is a pool table, checkers, chess and books to read. It is a great place to spend late afternoons and evenings.

The food at Goosewing is excellent. Breakfasts have a wide range of choices from eggs, omelettes, fruit, cereals and pancakes. Dinners are mostly meets, with one Italian night and one Mexican night. Everything was cooked to order and done to perfection. The lunches are the only average part of the meals. Half of the time, they made sack lunches for us consisting of deli sandwiches, that we ate on our trail rides.

The lodging itself was really comfortable and homey. It was log cabin, western style decor. The rooms were warm. The beds were comfortable and housekeeping did a fantastic job of keeping everything clean.

I am not generally so long winded, so you can see that my family highly recommends Goosewing Ranch.

Guests from Washington

June 2017

My wife, 2 teenage boys and I stayed for 4 nights in mid June 17 at Goosewing and had a great time. The horseback riding was fantastic. My boys had never ridden but did very well and didn’t want to leave their horses. Great rides with amazing views, including wildlife. Cabins were perfect and the food was excellent…very, very good! We enjoyed the UTV rides and went out on our own several times exploring. But the best part was the staff and other guests. We met some great people. All staff from the dining room to farm hands were very nice and helpful. Truly exceptional. The only complaint would be that the weather didn’t cooperate…cold and the river was flooding. However it didn’t interfere with our riding. Would highly recommend Goosewing!! We’ll miss it.

Guests from Kentucky

 We visited the ranch for the 5th time and, as always, had a great time! We experienced some fun rides with spectacular views, especially the Grey Hills ride that takes you to a trail along a high cliff line. We each had the same horse all week, and enjoyed getting to know them. Everyone on the staff, from the cooks to the waitstaff to the wranglers, were so nice and helpful. Since you visit for several days, you get a chance to know them. Because of the relatively small size of the ranch, you also get to know the fellow guests. The cabins are comfortable, and you cannot believe how quiet it is at night. If you have the chance, look at the stars at night as they are more visible and vibrant that most other places. The food has been getting better each year, and every meal was excellent. For those who cannot live without wireless, there is one spot in the lodge where you can get a signal, but it will allow you to maybe check emails (but not download movies, etc). Besides the daily ride, other activities include swimming, fishing, ATV Ranger rides, and lessons in shooting and hatchet throwing.

Paul from Illinois

Best family vacation ever!!!!

Went at the beginning of season, so most of the staff was new but you’d never know it! They ALL performed as having been there together for years! 🙂
Customer service was impeccable. Fun, adventure and opportunity was abundant. Other visitors were great. We lucked out with the weather being unseasonably warm, yet when the pasture flooded Goosewing still made sure everything was offered without even a hiccup in the day. We were very happy to have the chance to try new things like learning to fly fish, skeet shooting etc. That was part of the reason we choose here.
It was especially nice not to have tv or cell/internet unless in the lodge. It’s a great chance to disconnect.
We can’t say enough good things about Goosewing! We loved it!

Guests from Florida

September 2016

Ranch Extravaganza!!! Must experience this place!

The experience this place provides if you like the outdoors is 2nd to none. From arrival after a long drive on a never ending road we got checked in to our cabin and we happily surprised by how luxurious and apt it felt. We got kitted out on our horses who we fell in love with and settled in for dinner. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble. Food was excellent and a variety to meet everyone’s tastes and very big portions! There is a real family feel at eating times and you get the chance to meet guests and have fun.
The riding can be as basic or fast as the riders dictate. We got looked after and had loping tests and had some fantastic 6 hour fast rides. Special mention to Wayne the cowboy who adds character to the ranch!
Scenery is breathtaking.
Horses are well cared for and full of personality. All the other add ins you can do and the AV thrown in makes the ranch experience perfect!
From shooting to line dancing and massages! They cover it all and the cost of drinks on the ranch very sensible.
We are from the uk but had our little piece of cowboy heaven.
Also managed to ride bare back taking the horses back out to pasture!
Highlights fast ride and team penning!
We will be back and could come here every year!

Ann-Marie from England

Trip with 13 year old grandson

We were very pleased with the ranch, the horses, all the other amenities. Lots to do. The heated pool was a welcomed plunge, and the hot tub great after riding for 4 hours. Our horses were well matched and the daily rides enjoyable. The Ranglers were great, especially Katy D., who also graduated from the WWU, Fulton, Mo., a few years after I graduated from it in 1968. Her knowledge of the area, animals, and turraine was most appreciated. She was tuned in to the needs of all the visitors. Amy, was also a great help and wanted to make sure every aspect was to our liking. We would totally recommend this ranch for adults and children over 10.

Dayle S.

August 2016

Amazing ranch. Beautiful location and wonderful staff. Stayed here 4 days and wished that I had stayed longer. The trail rides are out of this world (and I am not a rider). Watching my two girls herd cattle was a real highlight. Can’t recommend the ranch enough.

Guests from London

Amazing scenery and lovely people

My husband and I visited this ranch for a 6 night stay and I can’t say enough nice things about them. The staff members were very sweet and accommodating. The kitchen staff were willing to go out of their way to accommodate dietary requests. The wranglers and activity staff would talk to guests the night before and tweak the next day’s activity schedules to fit everyone’s needs/desires. The cleaning and maintenance staff would always say hello and were happy to answer any questions we had. Our cabin and bed were very comfy.

Going in, I had riding experience, but my husband did not. After a couple days and an arena lesson, they had him comfortable enough to go on a 4.5 hour “fast ride”, loping through the countryside with the rest of the group. We had a blast! The longer trail rides we took to the gray hills and tepee creek were some of the most amazing views I’ve ever seen.

Aside from the many daily trail ride options, there are so many activities, you could never be bored. My personal favorite was the team penning, where you work in groups of 3-4 to separate a cow from a herd in an arena as fast as possible. It was hilarious and was basically a lot of people on horses yelling at livestock but definitely a must try activity in my book. My husband particularly liked the shooting sports available. We tried skeet shooting, target shooting, archery, and hatchet/knife throwing. Having never shot a gun before, I turned out to be a pretty good shot!

A few pieces of advice:
– Show up to activity sign up as soon as it starts. Some activities fill quickly and if you’re there for a 1/2 week, they may only be offered once.
– Book your massage the day you arrive for the last day you’re there. You’ll be doing a lot of activity so it’s good to cap the trip with a massage so it “sticks” longer.
– You’re allowed to bring your own alcohol but there’s a $10 corkage fee if you drink it at the lodge. Other areas are fine.
– Pack layers and a wind breaker! We were unprepared for the huge temperature spread (80 during the day, 40 at night). The coldest morning we had was 28. The wind can get intense in the afternoons.
– Be aware that sodas are not included in the meal package. You will be charged extra for ginger ale, Sprite, etc. Not a big deal, just a thing to note.

My one complaint was the assigned seating policy in the dining area. If you get stuck with a group that you don’t like, you’ll be eating with them all week. We requested to be moved to a different table after a couple days, but due to this assigned seating policy, the move was conspicuous and created tension. Several people, including other guests, staff, and the owner, brought up the topic of the dining seating move with us after it happened. We appeared to have been branded as “difficult” after requesting new seats and we couldn’t shake the event/label for the rest of the week. I think the situation could be improved with either open seating or rotating table assignments.

Overall, we had a fantastic experience at Goosewing. The staff was superior and it’s a beautiful part of the country. You’ll never be bored at this ranch so make sure you schedule some nap/pool time into your day. They’ll keep you busy! We will definitely be back in the future.

Maureen D.

Fantastic Family Holiday

We travelled as a family of four, 2 very experienced horsewomen, myself who used to ride but hasn’t for 20 years & our son who was a complete novice. The whole experience was amazing. The horses were healthy, happy & well matched to our abilities and in 5 days of riding we managed between 26 and 30 hours in the saddle. The rides are very varied in length, speed and scenery (all spectacular) and the equestrian activities including cattle penning & mounted games are great fun. The other activities are also well organised and very entertaining. You can have as relaxed or as intense a time as you want – we went all out & never seemed to have a minute to spare. The cabins are comfortable, clean & well supplied – we had cabin 10 which is the furthest away from the lodge – and loved the isolation. Food is great & plentiful. The staff are all great, difficult to single people out but James in the Restaurant & Hannah & Griffin from the wranglers were excellent. You’re at over 7000ft so it can get cold at night but it was never a problem for us. The ‘Ranger’ all terrain vehicles provided with each cabin give you the opportunity to explore the surrounding area when not in the saddle (& gave our grown up kids their first experience of off road driving). A day in Jackson Hole is also a must. I work with horses every day despite not having ridden for 20 years but this holiday has rekindled my love for them so much that I’m looking to buy one -they wouldn’t let me take Marshall home!

John from New Jersey

Exceeded our already high expectations!!

We could not have been happier with our first time ranch experience! The ranch became “home” very quickly! The accommodations were snug (2 adults/1child) but attractive and adequate. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and always available. We really appreciated the fact that they learned our names almost immediately. The location was stunning with many planned activities which we signed up for everyday with horseback riding a priority. This is the perfect place for families! Because of the limit on the number of guests , we were able to get to know most of them . We brought our 9-yr.-old granddaughter with us and she made the absolute most of ranch life! We highly recommend Goosewing Ranch!

Linda from North Carolina

July 2016

I can’t say enough positive about our visit to Goosewing Ranch. Right from the beginning we were welcomed and made to feel at home. The staff did a great job and a special thank you to Amy and Randy. We check in, got to our cabin, had met and were on our horses within 45 minutes of arriving at the ranch. The food was top quality and a true reflection of the chef and his staff. Being able to eat and get to know the same group of people during meals was an excellent added touch for our family. We were able to get to know and become involved in each others families during our visit. We are definitely looking forward to a future visit.

Best Vacation Ever

This was hands down the best vacation we ever had as a family. I have never seen a staff so caring, patient, accommodating, and attentive to its guests as the staff at Goosewing. There was always something to do whether it was an arranged event or just taking out the Ranger roaming around the mountainside. Housekeeping always did such a wonderful job with our cabin and even left goodies behind. Every day offered horseback riding and at least one or two additional events. Safety was always at the forefront when helping guests with their horses and on the trails. The grounds were kept so beautifully with a pond for canoeing, offers of massages, free laundry room, a separate building for kids with ping pong, fooseball, and shuffleboard. It was next to a very nice playground. The chef did an amazing job with each and every meal and provided afternoon snacks every day from cookies to ice cream. The wranglers were very knowledgeable and made learning fun. There was an outdoor pool with a sauna and hot tub available for guests. I can’t say enough good things about Goosewing Ranch except that we are going back next year.

Michele from Virginia

Awesome experience at Goosewing with 18 family members!!

we brought our entire family..our children and their spouses and 10 grandchildren ranging in age from 17 to 21 there was something for every age, the food was good and abundant, the cabins were clean and fun, the staff was attentive and friendly and the activities were fun and plentiful. we highly recommend Goosewing! Plus it is in the most beautiful, breathtaking setting imaginable!!

Guests from Florida

Adventure in the seclusion of the Gros Ventre Valley

A great place for anyone looking to escape crowds, enjoy wonderful views, service, food, and outdoor activities. Something for everyone, but the adventures on horseback are a definite highlight. We engaged in everything from team penning and trail rides, to skeet shooting and just lounging by the pool.

Guests from Florida

Stayed 2 Days Wish I stayed 2 Weeks!

This is the best vacation we have had in a while. We only planned to stay two days because we were traveling through from Yellowstone and we were not sure how our 6 year old would like it. However, we all Ioved it and wished we stayed longer. They had great activities everyday but the hi-light was the horse back riding. the horse wranglers made the ride exciting and fun. We especially liked Abby. She was great with our son and was amazing with our horses. All the staff at the ranch was great. Our favorite waiter was James. He made every meal and cocktail hour delightful. He was not only a terrific server but just a wonderful person to be around. The food was amazing. The chef was trained at Le Cordon Bleu and made dishes that were of a 5 star restaurant caliber for every meal. We will definitely go back as we already miss it and our son hasn’t stopped talking about it!

Gari L.

July 2011

I’m taking a mental photo of the view from the cabin to recall when life resumes its hectic pace. Thank you for the opportunity to smell the clean air, look into the wilderness, and spend down-time with loved ones. The staff enhanced the trip with their care and love for this place. We will not forget this amazing paradise.

Guests from Washington D.C.

“Over the river and through the woods” has taken on a whole new meaning as while we did NOT find Grandma, we DID find Francois and Goosewing Ranch. The memories are so vividely etched in our minds that our amazing photographs may not do them justice. What a gift to sit on our porch and hear the river, smell the fresh air, and live the beauty of the mountains. We are blessed with the experience forever! Oh yeah and the food was excellent. Too bad we are leaving today as the American expression goes… “This food is so good I could just KISS the cook!”

Guests from Pennsylvania

 

Check out more reviews on Trip Advisor.